Reliving Fredricksburg, Virginia


It had been an interesting week, having  vacationed in Charleston,South Carolina, I decided to drive to Fredricksburg Virginia on my way back home in Indiana.

It was a long drive and  since I didn’t leave Charleston until late morning,I didn’t arrive in Richmond Virginia until after dark. I decided to stay in Richmond and drive up to Fredricksburg the next morning.

 Pulling off I-95 and driving into town, I suddenly drove past a cemetery on the left. Looking over,my first thought was,”That’s funny, that cemetery wasn’t there the last time I was here.” The interesting part was, I had never been here before! Passing the gate, I noticed a sign stating it was a Civil War Cemetery. My next thought was, ” That is the reason I don’t recognize it, I was here during the American Revolution, the cemetery wasn’t here yet!”

I still hadn’t quite grasped the idea that reincarnation was a possibility, however , this thought, completely unprovoked  gave more credence to that possibility. As I drove into town more surprises awaited me! This was amazing I  recognized everything about the town,it was like I had been here just yesterday! I had no trouble finding my way around, all the way through town to the Rising Sun Inn on the far end of town. This Inn had been owned by Lawrence Washington, George Washington’s brother!

 The Inn had been preserved from Revolutionary War times, touring the building, it seemed so natural to be here. I sensed I had eaten and stayed here many times. Walking the streets of town I came to the Masonic Lodge, It was George Washington’s home lodge. How cool! It was open, never thinking I would have this opportunity, I quickly entered the building and approached the lodge room. It was like any other lodge I had ever had the privilege to enter. The special part was knowing that George Washington and other founding fathers had met in this very room! One could only imagine what conversations had taken place during that important part of our history! What plans were made, who made them, and how was it decided which course of action should be taken?

 What part did I play in this, who was I, and why was I drawn here at this particular time?

The founding of our country had always fascinated me, I never tired of reading about how that period of time had changed the lives of all  mankind. Realizing that I might have played a part, even if it was a small part, was extremely gratifying! Deep down, I had always had those feelings of living in those times, but never really considered it a possibility, until now.Even though at times such a concept as reincarnation was hard to accept,the evidence was overwhelming!

I now realized ,while in Charleston, I had some of the same thoughts  enter my mind. Everyone relates Charleston with the Civil War, maybe my time there was during an earlier period, when Charleston was equally important in the beginning of our Republic, the American Revolution.

More Other World adventures on Kindle.

Gary has been a writer/ photographer for over 20 years, specializing in nature,landscapes and studying native cultures.Besides visiting most of the United States, he has traveled to such places as Egypt,the Canary Islands,much of the Caribbean. He has studied  the Mayan Cultures in Central America, and the Australian Aboriginal way of life.Photography has given him the opportunity to observe life in many different parts of the world!

He has published several books about the various cultures he has observed.

For more information and a link to his hard cover and Ebooks,and contact information: please check his website.www.commonsensejourneys.com

Your comments appreciated

one life

Art Prints

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

