Ask and You Shall Receive


Written by : Gary Wonning

How often do we get what we ask for?  How many times have we been the
recipient of  an unfortunate situation due to unforeseen circumstances
and make the statement, “Well, we asked for it.”The answer may surprise
you. 

It happens more than you would realize. It has been my experience that we
always receive what we ask for, especially if we are really determined
to receive it. When we keep focusing on a particular outcome, and do it
for an extended period of time, it will be given to us. That is why it
is so important to be specific in what we want and how we would like to
receive it. If we don’t the intended gift may come to us in a way that
is not in our best interests.

A particular instance in my life comes to mind. Several years ago I was
preparing for a month long adventure to Australia, It was something I
was looking forward to, the only down side was that it would use up all
but one week of my yearly vacations, thus leaving long periods of time
without any time for some rest and recuperation.

As I approached the last of March, I began to really be stressed out and
realized I needed a break , my Australian adventure was still 3 months
away, I began to unconsciously want and need some time off  work.

Little did I realize I was setting the stage for an unscheduled learning
experience. The last week of March turned out to be extremely warm for
March. I had my only other week’s vacation for the year scheduled and as
the weather was near 80, I decided to clean up my motorcycle and get it
ready for summer.

As I finished cleaning, it seemed like a good idea to go for a short ride.
I had decided to travel to Gettysburg the next day, but this would be a
good way to spend the day.  I could come home, pack and either leave
later in the day, or wait until the next morning. The short ride turned
into a long ride,. As I rode along the rural southern Indiana roads near
the Ohio River, it seemed like the perfect day.

I should have known better, there had been storm clouds gathering all day
and as I stopped to talk to a friend in Aurora, a sudden downpour came
upon us. It rained cats and dogs for over an hour. Suddenly , as the
rain was diminishing, I decided to make a break for it and ride to my
home 30 miles away.

As I rounded the corner passing between a funeral home and a church, a
pickup truck suddenly pulled out in front of me , leaving me with two
choices, neither of them good. I could either hit the truck or hit the
pavement. I decided to hit the pavement and even though I was only
traveling about 10 MPH, I dislocated my shoulder and as a result spent
the next three months off work healing up and going through rehab. I
recovered just in time for my month long expedition to Australia.


I had gotten what I had asked for, plenty of time off, the rest of the
spring was cold and below normal temperatures, so being outside wasn’t
even an option. I spent most of the next three months reading books and
watching TV, with a bummed up shoulder, one is really limited as to what
he can do.

Art Prints


All this has been instrumental in me realizing, we do actually get what we
ask for, hopefully I will be more concise in the future concerning how I
ask for what I want.

Now you can follow me on Kindle.


FALL '11- COUPON/CLEARANCE- SAVE 15%

 Gary has been a writer/ photographer for over 20 years, specializing in nature,landscapes and studying native cultures.Besides visiting most of the United States, he has traveled to such places as Egypt,the Canary Islands,much of the Caribbean. He has studied  the Mayan Cultures in Central America, and the Australian Aboriginal way of life.Photography has given him the opportunity to observe life in many different parts of the world!

He has published several books about the various cultures he has observed.

For more information and a link to his hard cover and Ebooks,and contact information: please check his website, http://www.journeysthrulife.com.

Your comments appreciated

Enlightenment

At this period of time in the history of man, there is probably more individual searching being done into the theories behind the origin of the human race,what happens after death,the possibility of life on other planets, and what our relationship is to these life forms, if they do exist. There are millions of people who are questioning the existence of God, who he really is, and what is my relationship with him? Is he someone who mysteriously floats around on a cloud watching and judging us from above like some bigger than life Santa Claus, or is he, like many of the esoteric sciences claim, a part of our inner Self, whom we have constant contact with, someone whom we and everything in the universe are connected

Available in both hard copy and Ebook format.

 

2 Comments

  1. I’ve found this web site beneficial for my day-to-day living. It’s very enjoyable and exciting. Mind you, did anyone see the Aussie Open ladies final today? That was really a fantastic match. Maria Sharapova got her ass kicked by a girl from Belarus who will be the world number 1 immediately after the triumph. That is definitely something. The next day is actually likely to be a terrific day for tennis. Thus whoever’s interested by sure to give it a look free essay papers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

